Stepping Out in Faith

Sometimes you just have to have faith that God will help you when he gives you a nudge to do his will.

Dealing With the Bumps in the Road September 10, 2013


It’s been over a year since I was diagnosed with diabetes. It’s been a roller coaster ride, but it’s getting better. At first, the doctor thought I had type 2 diabetes, but it wasn’t getting much better after several months. After many blood tests and lots of finger sticks, it was finally decided that I have type 1. My endocrinologist told me I’d be going on an insulin pump. She really didn’t give me a choice. This was all so new to me and I wasn’t sure if I wanted to go down this road or not, but it was pretty much out of my hands.

I could have been angry that I was losing control of my body and pleaded with God to heal me, but that’s not what I felt I was supposed to do. Almost from the beginning, I’ve felt like I was dealing with this now so that I could help others in the future. I have become more aware of the foods I eat and how my body reacts to them. All of this new knowledge has been helpful in the classroom as I teach nutrition and exercise to my students, as well as helping them learn about diabetes. My family eats much healthier than before, too.

Recently, the mother of a friend asked me about how I dealt with my diabetes. She was interested more in how I dealt with it mentally and emotionally because her husband has diabetes and has had a change in his medication as of late. I encouraged her that life can be pretty normal as long as you take it seriously and make the changes needed. I guess mainly I just reassured her that it wasn’t the end of the world and that it doesn’t have to totally control your life. Sure, you do have to adjust to regularly checking your blood glucose with finger pricks and taking your meds in a timely manner, but it can be done. I do all the things now that I did before I was diagnosed.

If you are experiencing extreme thirst, excessive need to urinate, bruises or sores that don’t heal as quickly as normal (especially of the legs and feet), exhaustion, and a drastic change in your vision, don’t wait. Go to your doctor as soon as possible! There is help available and you can do this. I never thought I could manage without sugar! My favorite drink was Mountain Dew, but it didn’t taste sweet any more at all. Chocolate didn’t either. I guess with all that sugar building up in my bloodstream, it was affecting my taste buds. I’ve decided that I must educate others when I can. God had a plan and with his strength, I can do this! Another reason I’m “stepping out in faith”!

 

Leave a comment