Stepping Out in Faith

Sometimes you just have to have faith that God will help you when he gives you a nudge to do his will.

Searching for Father Christiaan Kappes October 7, 2012


Friday evening, we sat in a local restaurant with my mother-in-law and brother-in-law, when my husband informed me about a call he had received that morning. He said to me, “You aren’t going to believe this one.” He proceeded to tell me about the disappearance of Father Christiaan Kappes in Greece. Immediately, my stomach got that sick feeling. Chris, as we knew him, is the step-son of a very dear friend of mine. Jenny Johnson Kappes was my field hockey, basketball, and softball coach when I attended Franklin College during my college career. We have kept in touch through the years. Jenny was maid of honor in our wedding and is my daughter, Ashley’s, godmother.

I called Jenny as soon as we got home and she confirmed what Todd had told me. The family is extremely concerned for his safety and that of his translator, Ioanna. At first, it was very difficult to get any help from the U.S. Embassy, who had denied help when Christiaan and Ioanna had gone to them for help. After many hours and days of phone calls and making contacts via the internet, Christiaan’s sister, Nadia Charcap, feels some relief that she is getting the word out and it is on the news and in the media in Athens. The authorities there are finally on the job. The family is asking for prayers that Father Christiaan and Ioanna are found and that the thugs that have threatened them and may have hurt them be brought to justice. I am including links to some info about this case.

Please keep Father Kappes, Ioanna, and his family in your prayers. We hope that they are found safe and sound, but they have been missing since Monday, so it is imperative that we pray for the safe return!

 

One Response to “Searching for Father Christiaan Kappes”


Leave a Reply

