Stepping Out in Faith

Sometimes you just have to have faith that God will help you when he gives you a nudge to do his will.

Do Not Worry About Tomorrow February 8, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — webmasteryates @ 7:47 pm

“But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.” Matthew 6:33-34 NKJV

I’m a worrier. Just ask my children. It’s the way I’m put together, I guess. I think it goes back to feeling like I have to be in control. When my oldest daughter first started going out with friends it was tough. I couldn’t get to sleep until I knew she was safe and sound at home. We agreed upon a system where she would keep me informed as to where she was. If I knew she wasn’t on the roads, then I wouldn’t worry. So, she got to be pretty good about keeping me up to speed on her whereabouts. I’ve gotten much better over the last few years. All I ask when she is on the road going from home back to her dorm at college is to send me a text to let me know she got back safely. I think that’s reasonable. But, I have learned to put her safety and the safety of my other daughter into God’s hands. Someone once said it’s a waste of time to worry and that’s true.

One day I got that dreaded call that every parent never wants to get. A friend that lives a few miles from us called to let me know the girls were in an accident. She led me to believe it wasn’t too bad so that I wouldn’t have an accident getting there. Well, I wasn’t too worried. I got there quickly, but safely. But when I arrived at the scene and saw all the fire trucks and ambulances, my stomach was all in knots. When I was finally able to get to the other side of the highway, I saw my youngest and her friend talking to a police officer. Asking where Ashley was, Dani said she was still in the car. Well, I hadn’t even seen the car yet! They had to cut her out of the car because she had a head injury. My heart sank when I saw the car surrounded by firemen and EMTs. That was one of those days that I was so thankful to know that God was with them. Ashley had to be air cared to the hospital, but Dani and her friend just had scratches and bruises. They were all very blessed to have survived that accident at all. They all had their seatbelts on and an angel with them.

I’ll never forget the helplessness I felt or the calm that overcame me when they told me Ashley was going to be okay. The minister got to the hospital the same time I did. Our church family was great. This happened during VBS and the girls were teaching a class of preschoolers. One of the other teenagers took their class for the last night and the phone rang off the hook that night with concerned friends. Do I still worry? Well, I’m not perfect, but I have gotten better at putting those feelings aside, trusting that they are in God’s care.

Stepping out in Faith,

Pam

 

One Response to “Do Not Worry About Tomorrow”

  1. […] Do Not Worry About Tomorrow (webmasteryates.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

